Sabrina Carpenter Albums Ranked

Aditi Mahadware
4 min readFeb 4, 2021

--

There are 3 types of singers: ironical singers who can’t sing, singers who sound good only in the studio and those who sound angelic live, perhaps even better than in studio; Sabrina Carpenter falls in the last category, her vocals live are unmatched as a rising pop star in the music industry. She is an actor, singer, song-writer and trust me, she has got good moves as well; with a charming personality, one can hardly not like her.

Mainstream pop music is something I struggled to listen to, but Sabrina absolutely snatched my wig with her distinct style of vocals: a powerful voice, beautiful falsettos, her ‘no no no’ after riffs, and incorporation of vibratos. I have been a fan since her days of covering songs and making them her own while on keys. Her music is just on the runaway as of now and I can’t wait to see it take flight. (Still waiting for that Jazz album)

#4- Eyes Wide Open (2015)

Favourite track: “Can’t blame a girl for trying”

Carpenter released this debut album signed to Hollywood Records at the age of 16. The album has the young teenage trying to understand emotions, love, and the world theme to it. While the album received positive reception and the Radio Disney Music Award, this album found the last spot in my list as- granted it is a young teen album and she was very, very young- it is a far cry from who Sabrina is and her potential. But ‘Can’t blame a girl for trying’ is a song I can still see myself I can see myself jamming to in my late 20’s.

#3- Singular: Act II (2019)

Favourite Act: ‘Take Off All Your Cool”

Her latest album, impeccable vocals, Carpenter’s music really did mature with the 2 acts of Singular. Groovy R&B/Pop, quenching the thirst as she left us hanging (like Mona Lisa) after the first half of Singular. The album, as carpenter states, is about getting out of the comfort zone to grow as an individual and reach new heights. Yet, this album did not do it for me. Some songs felt similar, and the idea of getting out of my comfort zone was something I resonated more with Singular: Act 1. The songs I catch myself listening to most are ‘In My Bed’, ‘Pushing 20’ and ‘Exhale’.

#2- EVOLution (2016)

Favourite track: “Shadows”

Picking a favourite from this album was tough, yes- it is that good of an album. It certainly had that paradigm shift from ‘Eyes Wide Open’, her music matured with this as her second album. She teased us with a deeper insight of experienced love and emotions. She gained popularity with the single ‘Thumbs’ in this era; this album certainly awed us with her vocals and song-writing. Notable mentions are ‘Space’, ‘No Words’, ‘Mirage’.

#1- Singular: Act I (2018)

Favourite track: “prfct”

Each and every song of this album is magnum opus worthy. New sounds found a way in this album, difficult love, as well as making you feel like Beyoncé on stage. Carpenter made us feel sexy as we do a hip roll, confident and content as we turn down our exes, and worthy like diamonds. Each song has its own identity; the songs slowly poured into me into gaps I didn’t know existed. ‘Paris’, ‘Hold Tight’ and ‘Mona Lisa’ crashed my repeat button. Actually, you know what? Just stream the whole album. You won’t be disappointed. The music video for ‘Almost Love’ and ‘Paris’ is chef’s kiss. This album is a blessing to us from Sabrina Carpenter.

--

--